Online information source for semiconductor professionals

SEMI‚??s Akira Inoue Award for EHS Excellence bestowed on Toshiba‚??s Atsutoshi Nishida

03 December 2008 | By Síle Mc Mahon | News > EHS

Popular articles

New Product: Applied Materials new EUV reticle etch system provides nanometer-level accuracy - 19 September 2011

Oberai discusses Magma’s move into solar PV yield management space - 29 August 2008

‚??Velocity‚?? the new buzzword in Intel‚??s PQS annual awards - 12 April 2012

Applied Materials adds Jim Rogers to Board of Directors - 29 April 2008

TSMC honors suppliers at annual Supply Chain Management Forum - 03 December 2008

A. NishidaIn recognition of his contributions to the fields of greenhouse gases reduction and commitment to efficiency in Toshiba’s daily operations, Atsutoshi Nishida, President and CEO of Toshiba Corporation has been honored with the Akira Inoue Award for Environmental, Health and Safety Excellence. The award, which is presented by SEMI annually, aims to honor those in the industry who have displayed an outstanding achievement in raising awareness of environmental issues in their day-to-day work. Presentation of the award took place at the SEMICON Japan President’s Reception in Tokyo on December 2nd, 2008.

Mr. Nishida has served as Director, Representative Executive Officer, President and CEO of Toshiba Corporation since June 2005, and has been with the company since 1975. His receipt of the award was based on contributions such as the company’s provision of environmentally conscious products, the reduction of energy-oriented CO2 emissions and of chemicals used in the industry, and increased efficiency in the company’s use of resources. He started the “Toshiba Group Environmental Vision 2050,” which was introduced in 2007 and aims to enhancing environmental efficiency of products and business processes, while also working to reduce global CO2 emissions.

Mr. Nishida joins past recipients of the Akira Inoue Award including Pasquale Pistorio, former CEO of STMicroelectronics; Craig Barrett, former CEO of Intel Corporation; Isao Uchigasaki, Chairman of the board of Hitachi Chemical Company; Chang-Gyu Hwang, President and CEO of the Semiconductor Business of Samsung Electronics; and Richard K. Templeton, President and CEO of Texas Instruments Incorporated, who received the award in 2007.

Related articles

Richard Templeton receives 2007 SEMI Akira Inoue award - 03 February 2008

TSMC gives Cabot Microelectronics Supplier Award - 20 November 2008

TSMC bestows ‚??Supplier Excellence Award‚?? upon Air Products - 07 December 2009

Rohm and Haas receives Supplier Award from Hitachi Semiconductor Singapore - 18 April 2008

Toshiba Corp attempts to mix-up front office, Norio Sasaki to become new CEO - 18 March 2009

Reader comments

No comments yet!

Post your comment

Please enter the word you see in the image below: