Online information source for semiconductor professionals

Going Places

STMicroelectronics COO steps down after 27 years of service

27 October 2010

STMicroelectronics, ALAIN DUTHEILDidier Lamouche has joined STMicroelectronics as the new chief operating
officer, replacing Alain Dutheil who has held the position since 2005.
Dutheil will now retire from the company after 27 years of service.


Spansion welcomes a new addition to its R&D team

27 October 2010

SpansionSpansion has appointed Dr. Saied Tehrani as senior vice president of
research and development. Tehrani will be responsible for the company’s
technology and product development sectors, creating applications
tailored to the specific needs of customers in the embedded portion of
the Flash memory market. 


Semiconductor veteran Luca De Ambroggi joins the team at iSuppli

27 October 2010

iSuppliiSuppli has hired veteran semiconductor executive Luca De Ambroggi as senior analyst. De
Ambroggi will head up the iSuppli Automotive Infotainment Components
and Devices Portals, conducting ongoing research and analysis into
future trends of semiconductor usage in the automotive industry. De
Ambroggi also will support iSuppli’s growing European automotive client


Dr. Rainer Knippelmeyer joins SUSS MicroTec as VP R&D and CTO

31 August 2010
SUSS Microtec headquartersSemiconductor equipment and process solution provider SUSS MicroTec has added to its executive team with the appointment of Dr. Rainer Knippelmeyer as vice president of R&D and CTO. Dr. Knippelmeyer’s task in his new roles will involve the overseeing of all research and development activities and spearheading new technologies for the company’s products, with a cross-product technology roadmap being planned for the SUSS MicroTec group. Read more >>

Verigy COO Jorge Titinger adds president title to role

22 June 2010
Jorge TitingerSemiconductor test company Verigy has promoted its current COO to the role of president and COO as of July 1st 2010. Jorge Titinger will report to Keith Barnes, chairman and CEO, who renounces the role of president, which he has held since joining the company in 2006. Jorge has worked with such companies as KLA-Tencor, Applied Materials and FormFactor over the course of his career. Read more >>

Jason Rim promoted to spearhead Rite Track‚??s Asian semiconductor sales

22 June 2010
Brian Renner, Rite Track's VP of salesRite Track has bolstered its Asian business approach with the appointment of Jason Rim as the leader of its Asian sales team. Jason joined the company in 2009 as current director of strategic process technology, prior to which he held several senior positions with major semiconductor companies. This additional role will see Jason drive the company’s regional sales in the important Asian market from Rite Track’s Asia headquarters in Singapore. Read more >>

Former Asyst head goes to Brooks Automation as new President

06 April 2010
Stephen S. SchwartzThe former Chairman, CEO and President of now defunct Asyst Technologies, Stephen S. Schwartz has been appointed President of Brook Automation. Schwartz will become a member of a newly formed Office of the Chief Executive with Robert J. Lepofsky, Chief Executive Officer, and Martin S. Headley, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer. His role will be to develop and implement the corporate strategic plan, executing to the annual operating plan and increasing the rate of profitable growth of the company. Read more >>

SMIC names new executive officers

10 February 2010
SMICSemiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation (SMIC) has made three new executive appointments: Chris Chi as chief business officer; Simon Yang as chief operating officer; and Gary Tseng as chief financial officer. Mr. Yang’s appointment as COO comes as a result of the recent resignation of Marco Mora from the same role. Read more >>

ASML‚??s Martin van den Brink wins Bob Graham Award from SEMI

09 February 2010
Martin van den Brink, Executive Vice President of Technology and Marketing for ASML, has become the eleventh recipient of SEMI’s annual Bob Graham Award, which is awarded for outstanding contributions in semiconductor equipment and materials marketing. Van den Brink has been with ASML for 25 years, with 15 years as a technologist and more recently as a marketing executive. Read more >>

AZ Electronic Materials appoints new CEO

19 January 2010
Geoff WildAZ Electronic Materials has appointed Geoff Wild as chief executive officer. Wild will succeed Thomas von Krannichfeldt who retires from the position after five years. von Krannichfeldt remains a member of the board. Read more >>